Cuarteto Quiroga

Viejo Mundo / Nuevo Mundo

Cuarteto Quiroga

Viejo Mundo / Nuevo Mundo

Cuarteto Quiroga, recent winner of Spain’s National Music Prize and appointed first quartet-in-residence in charge of the Royal Collection of decorated Stradivarius at Madrid’s Royal Palace, has established itself as one of the most dynamic and unique quartets of its generation, winning international acclaim from critics and audiences alike for its distinctive personality as well as its bold and original approach to the string quartet repertoire.

 ‘Precise, perfectly balanced, refreshingly interpreted and always wrapped
in warm tones.’

The New York Times

The quartet honours the memory of galician violinist Manuel Quiroga, one of the most outstanding instrumentalist of spanish music history.

The group studied at Madrid’s Escuela Reina Sofia with Professor Rainer Schmidt, at the Musikhochschule Basel with Walter Levin, and at the ECMA with Prof. Hatto Beyerle. Other important influences are Johannes Meissl, György Kurtág, András Keller, Eberhard Feltz and Ferenc Rados.

Prizewinners of several major international competitions (Bordeaux, Paolo Borciani, Genève, Beijing, Fnapec-Paris, Palau-Barcelona), the ensemble appears regularly worldwide (Wigmore Hall London, Philarmonie Berlin, Frick Collection and Lincoln Center New York, DaCamera LosAngeles, National Gallery Washington DC, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Invalides Paris, Martinu Hall Prague, Nybrokajen Stockholm, Auditorio Nacional-Madrid, Heidelberger Frühling, Stadtcasino Basel, Mozarteum Salzburg, String Quartet Biennial Amsterdam, etc.) and was awarded the Spanish National Radio Culture Prize.

Thu 6 Feb 2020
Theater aan het Vrijthof:
Price € 24
Premium seats € 29
Classical - Chamber music

Cuarteto Quiroga Viejo Mundo | Nuevo Mundo Cuarteto Quiroga Viejo Mundo | Nuevo Mundo


Cuarteto de Cuerda en Sol mayor opus 3, Nr.5

Cuarteto en Bes L185 

Ocho Tientos opus 35

String quartet nr.1  

Aitor Hevia, Cibrán Sierra

Josep Puchades

Helena Poggio


Igor Cat, Molina Visuals