Conservatorium Maastricht

Conservatorium Maastricht - Caleidoscoop
Experience all facets of the Maastricht Academy of Music! Classical ensembles, the Jazz Big Band and one of the youngest talents!

The String Ensemble performs Grieg conducted by Kyoko Yonemoto. Grieg's music often connects us with the purity of nature. In such a difficult period that we pass, the young and fresh interpretation of the Holberg Suite brings the ultimate feeling of spring.

Théodore Gouvy (1819-1898) is one of the "forgotten" French / German composers. He fits in the line of Gounod, Frank, Bizet, SaintSaens and Faurée. His Petite Suite Gaulloise for wind instruments is one of the gems of the Romantic period and has the same line-up as Charles Gounod's much more famous Petite Symphonie. It is a relatively short work consisting of 4 parts, each characterized by a Renaissance dance: Menuet, Aubade, Ronde de nuit, Tambourin. Beautiful romantic music that seems to have been completely forgotten.

Maastricht Academy of Music presents its Jazz Big Band with guest conductor Hendrika Entzian (DE), with guest soloist Greg Torunski on saxophone. Entzian won the WDR Jazz Prize 2018 and has since become one of the most important new names in the Euregion. The big band has previously worked in projects with top international musicians including Johm Beasly, John Clayton, Michael Mossman and others. For the first time since the lockdown, the big band is together again safely on stage, and we would like to share this moment with you. Don't miss it while the top talents of the Euregion create a wonderful evening with new music from just across the border!


Thu 25 Feb 2021
Theater aan het Vrijthof:
Price € 16
Classical - Orchestral
Tickets Wishlist



Piano solo (young talent- Akari Bastiaens)
Claude Debussy from Children’s Corner - L. 113 
Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum & The Snow is Dancing 
Emmanuel Chabrier from 10 Pieces Pittoresques - Scherzo-Waltz

String ensemble - Kyoko Yonemoto
Edvard Grieg Holberg Suite op. 40

Wind ensemble conducted by Leon Bosch            
Theodore Gouvy Petit Suite Gauloise op. 90

Bigband conducted by Hendrika Entzian
Bigbandspecial of the jazz department