Øsimun Quartet

De nieuwe lichting

23-10-osimunquartet 4 (c) natalia gómez.jpg

Øsimun Quartet is a young chamber music group based in Maastricht (NL) and Cologne (G). Their current ambition is to broaden their repertoire by working on different pieces, from works originally written for saxophone quartet to transcriptions of other formations.

The group was formed in September 2021 when the four driven musicians crossed paths in the Conservatorium Maastricht, where three of them currently study. Its members are Maria Bel Serra (Soprano Saxophone, ES), Fátima Alcázar (Alto Saxophone, ES), Inés González (Tenor Saxophone, ES) and Ricard Martínez (Baritone Saxophone, ES).

As an open-minded group, all members are very interested in the partnership between the quartet and young composers that can result in new works for this specific formation and in the contribution for the career of a young composer. This inquisitiveness has led them to premiere pieces from composers like Jithu Bas, Nikolas Agrafiotis or Asja Kadic. Moreover, they are working with transcriptions made specifically for the quartet by the baritone player, Ricard Martínez. These transcriptions are a very interesting way to deal with music originally written for other instruments that was never played with a saxophone quartet before.

To keep up with the high standard that the quartet aims to have, they constantly challenge themselves by taking lessons from several teachers across Europe, such as Lars Niederstraßer and the members of the Oberon Trio; as well as participating in competitions, such as the Music Awards Maastricht.

Nowadays, the quartet is regularly coached by Kyoko Yonemoto, Eva van Grinsven and Jean-PierreCnoops.

Sun 23 Oct 2022
Theater aan het Vrijthof:
11:30 - 12:30
Price € 17.50
Classical - Classical
Save to wishlist


E. Bozza
Andante et Scherzo

G. Ligeti
Six Bagatelles
I. Allegro con Spirito
II. Rubato. Lamentoso
III. Allegro grazioso
IV. Presto ruvido
V. Agagio. Mesto (In Memoriam Béla Bartók)
VI. Molto vivace. Capriccioso

D. Malanka
 Recitation Book
I. Meditation on ‘Der du bist drei in Einigkeit’
II. Prelude/Chorale: Meditation on ‘Jesu meine Freude’
III. Ecco morirò dunque – Gesualdo
IV. Meditation on ‘O Salutaris Hostia’
V. Fanfare/Variations on ‘Durch Admas Fall’

B. Bartók
Romanian Folk Dances
I. Joc cu bata (Stick Dance)
II. Braul (Sash Dance)
III. Pe-loc (in one Spot)
IV. Buciumeana (Horn Dance)
V. Poarga romaneasca (Romanian Polka)
VI. Maruntel (Fast Dance)

G. Lago
Ciudades (selection)

Soprano saxophone

Maria Bel Serra

alto saxophone

Fátima Alcázar
tenor saxophone

Inés González

baritone saxophone

Ricard Martínez 

Natalia Goméz